European Union Prize for Literature

EUPL 10 years anniversary

The European Union Prize for Literature

10th anniversary edition

In 2018 the European Union Prize for Literature is celebrating its 10th anniversary. To mark this special occasion a virtual and physical journey through the literary Europe has been organised, in addition to a writing contest exclusively open to all previous EUPL winners.

Find out more about this exciting literary journey in the European map here.

Since its creation in 2009, the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) aims to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The Prize, which is co-financed by the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission, aims to achieve three main goals: to promote cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector; to encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output; and to foster intercultural dialogue.

The EUPL is organised by a Consortium comprised of the European Writers’ Council (EWC), the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF) with support of the European Commission.

Selection Process between 2009-2017

In the past nine editions, a total of 108 winning authors were selected by qualified juries set up in each of the countries participating in the award. Jury members were appointed by national members of EWC, FEP and EIBF and were composed of a minimum of 3 and a maximum 5 members.

The emerging authors were chosen on the basis of criteria, agreed upon by the EUPL Consortium with the European Commission. Details on these criteria are available on the EUPL website.

Visit the EUPL website

EUPL Writing Contest

The EUPL Writing Contest “A European Story: EUPL Winners Write Europe” is a unique short fiction competition that celebrates Europe, literature and – above all – 10 years of the European Union Prize for Literature.

36 EUPL winning authors from a total of 26 different countries have participated in this contest. Their stories, in both original versions and translations, are available in the publication on this website.

We encourage you to read each of these fascinating European stories and take an active part in this contest by voting for your favourite story here. In cooperation with the LIA Foundation, EUPL has insured that both the publication and the voting process are fully accessible to visually-impaired persons.

Ten lucky voters will be able to win an exciting trip to Vienna to join our fabulous Awards Ceremony in November 2018. Make sure to cast your vote before 21 October!

In addition to the public vote, this contest will be judged by a professional jury, made up of distinguished experts from the field of literature, including literary critics, journalists, authors as well as booksellers, will be judging these submissions in the coming months and choose a winner in November 2018.

The members of the professional jury are Maria-João Costa (Portugal), Nina George (Germany), Juancho Pons (Spain), Cathy Rentzenbrink (United Kingdom), Liana Sakelliou (Greece) and Marnix Verplancke (Belgium).

There will also be a special MEPs Prize, awarded by Members of the European Parliament, as well as a special mention for Cultural Heritage.

The winners of the different categories will be announced at the Awards Ceremony taking place in Vienna in November 2018.